Here We Go (Again)

Let’s talk about the beginning, everyone has to start somewhere. I started doing triathlons in 2010 as a way to recover from cancer treatment and feel like I was actively doing something to prevent its recurrence.  I have kept a journal of my training. This was the entry in December of 2009 when the idea of triathlons first was planted in my mind.

“A couple of weeks ago, Denis decided that he wanted to try to do some triathlons during the summer next year. Somehow, I got it in my head that it would be a good idea to train with him and do one or two myself…..
Let’s set the stage for what this means: I am 43, with three kids. I homeschool them. I am 16 months post treatment from breast cancer, and 3 weeks post surgery from a hysterectomy. While I am in good health, I am not in good shape. I would say my fitness is marginal at best. I have been exercising regularly, but certainly not putting forth the effort that would be needed to accomplish finishing a sprint triathlon. I decided to do this for two reasons: One, to have a common goal with my husband and something we could do together.  Two, it will keep my mind occupied on something else besides whether or not my cancer will return. It has been a tough year for me in that regard and I need to have some other focus that is less stressful.
So on to the triathlon… I still have to wait for the surgeon to clear me for doing more activity before I can start. I see her in 3 weeks. In the meantime, I am reading books, looking at websites, walking and seeing my PT  to make sure I am ready to start such an endeavor.
Issues I see in completing a triathlon without embarrassing myself: Swimming so that I don’t drown or get tired out too fast, and running. I really don’t like to run.  Michelle loves to run, so I am hoping that some of her love for it will rub off on me. At this point, I am only walking 2.5 mph and that is with discomfort. Hopefully, that will change soon. The other issue is time. I foresee this as me needing to become much more efficient around the house so that I do have time for the workouts. Finally, and most importantly, is focus. While this is a great activity and good for my health, it will certainly do me no good if I lose focus on my God and do not read and study my Bible or do the things which please Him. I will have to be very diligent in making sure I do not falter in this area.”

img_3182.jpg
Denis and me after our first ever sprint triathlon at Blue Lake in Gresham Oregon.

This adventure feels much the same as that one did in 2009, some things have changed and some haven’t.  1. I have done more than a few triathlons including my first Half Ironman last year. 2. I have not even come close to drowning,(though I have swallowed a fair amount of water unintentionally) 3. I still don’t like running, but I am better at it now that I have learned more about it. 4. Cancer has not returned and is not likely to, so my mind is much clearer. 5. Focus and time management to keep God and family first are still the number one priorities.

I am officially underway with training and fundraising. Last week I was a bit off as I was out of town for a few days, but the first goal is a sprint tri in about two weeks. Please click the donate button above to make a donation and don’t forget to leave me your story or that of a person you are honoring.

This week, I am thankful to be able to be healthy and to have the opportunity to give this Ironman training my best shot.

Leave a Reply

